Melissa McCaslin
Staff Writer

After four long years of deprivation of the excitement of new material from a popular pop-punk band, the time has finally come for a new, self-titled album, Paramore  which was just released this week on Tuesday, April 9, through Grammy-nominated producer Justin Meldal-Johnson, also associated with Beck, Nine Inch Nails, and M83.  The band, Paramore has been around for nearly a decade, having formed in 2004 when all members were at an acceptably young age to be initiating such a rewarding career.

  It all began when the band’s singer, Hayley Williams moved to Franklin, Tennessee at the age of 13 and soon after, started taking voice lessons.  The musically talented and gifted young teenager began writing lyrics when she was 15 years old and was originally signed as a solo artist with Atlantic Records in 2003.  When the band officially formed in 2004, it consisted of Williams as the lead vocalist, Josh Farro as the lead guitarist and back-up vocalist, Zac Farro on drums, and Jeremy Davis as the bassist.  Later that year they welcomed Jason Bynum into their band as the rhythm guitarist. They released their music through a more niche label called Atlantic Records and also signed with Fueled By Ramen in 2005 when they released their first album, “All We Know Is Falling.”  Two years later in 2007 they released “Riot!” and two years after that they released their album, “Brand New Eyes.”  

Although it has been quite some time since Paramore has released a new album, they have kept themselves on track by writing and producing singles, such as “Now” which is featured on their newest album, “In The Mourning,” “Hello Cold World,” and “Renegade,” and “Monster.”  With these songs, they have created the Paramore Singles Club.  This is where fans have been spending their time, waiting for their next album release. Lucky for fans, the wait is over!  Paramore’s new self-titled album features seventeen songs, three of which are intervals.  The band has been extremely excited about this latest release, and were very anxious while waiting patiently for the release date.  Their current guitarist, Taylor York, shared with “The feelings are so vast and so many…we’re so excited, first and foremost. So ready for people to hear it.”  The album exposes the positive, yet deeply emotional feelings of the band, as well as what they have picked up from the musical influences, such as the bands Jimmy Eat World, Sunny Day Real Estate, New Found Glory, Death Cab For Cutie, and Thrice.  The different beats and melodies they use are very uplifting, as are the lyrics written by Hayley Williams’ relentless spirit.  The album includes a trio of aboveboard interludes that emulate the vocals of Patsy Cline or Dolly Parton.

 Paramore’s new material portrays an intensified version of their usual motivational, aggressive lyrics with new beats and rhythms to outline the strong emotionality Paramore is known for.  The lyrics of the first song on the album, “Now,” quote “Feels like I’m waking from the dead and everyone’s been waiting on me.”  “Now” starts the album off energetically and with relentless motivation, leaving a craving for more.  These new lyrics make sense and are explanatory after everything the band has been through.  It’s been a rough and windy road, but Paramore is back in action and better than ever!

Leave a Reply.